Runs for a few seconds only - Kawasaki KFX450 Forum - KFX450Central
  Yamaha YFZ450

Suzuki Z400

Suzuki LT-R450



Kawasaki KFX450

ATV Videos

Can-Am DS450
 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2008, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I recently bought a 2008 kfx450r with a full Yoshimura exhaust, K&N airfilter, removed lid, and power commander. It ran very well for about a week and now I am having trouble with it.

It starts right up but only idles for 3 seconds before dying. If I start it and nail the throttle I can get it to run for up to 20 seconds but it dies after that (I dont think its too good to do that anyways).

I tried using the high idle/choke knob and it does the same thing. I unplugged the power commander and the problem still exists. The TPS voltage was at .55 so I adjusted it up to .68. I checked the sparkplug and it looked OK but I replaced it anyways. I'm not sure if it's related but when I turn the key and then slide the switch near the start button the fuel pump runs for about 5 seconds and then stops.

These problems started yesterday but the day before when I was riding it it would die after running hard and then slowing down or taking turns.

I have a feeling it's either something really simple like a shorted wire somewhere or something major like the fuel pump. Any ideas?? I love the quad but I just want to ride it!!
nobodyfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 637
Default

Check the vehicle down sensor..if it's out of place it will prevent the quad from running
offroadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

QUOTE (offroadhunter @ Sep 1 2008, 08:25 PM)
Quote:
Check the vehicle down sensor..if it's out of place it will prevent the quad from running
That was it! If I zip-tie it down would it still function if I roll over? I'm not sure how it works but I want it to be functional.
nobodyfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default

QUOTE (nobodyfresh @ Sep 2 2008, 11:50 AM)
Quote:
That was it! If I zip-tie it down would it still function if I roll over? I'm not sure how it works but I want it to be functional.
Yes it will still function there is a gravity switch inside that should work as long as the 4 wheels are pointed towards the ground and not the sky. Below are a couple of photos of the switch disassembled and siliconed from the "other site".



raredirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

QUOTE (offroadhunter @ Sep 1 2008, 06:25 PM)
Quote:
Check the vehicle down sensor..if it's out of place it will prevent the quad from running

where is the down sensor located i am having problems with it
ctz400rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2