Kawasaki KFX450 Forum - KFX450Central banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to rebuild my engine because it is burning oil when you first crank it up. It blows out blue smoke for a little while when you first crank it up and it is getting a little worse with time. I am very good a working on anything and think I can tackle an engine rebuild but I have never done one before. Anyways what I am wonder is exactly how the engine comes apart (I know I need to buy the shop manual). Do I just pull the head and cams to get the timing chain out and then unbolt the cylinder from the transmission? I guess you just pull the cylinder upward and the piston falls out of the bottom still attached to the rod. Do I have to take the transmission apart to get the crankshaft out or can I just leave the crankshaft alone? I want to just unbolt the cylinder and pull upward and put a new piston, rings, cams, and valve seals in and then just use a ring compressor and slide the cylinder back down ever the piston, reinstall head, cams, timing chain, and go. Is this doable or do I have to take the transmission apart and get the crank out. Also how high of compression piston can I use with the stock crank? I want to use the JE 13.8:1.

·
Registered
40 Posts
QUOTE (Thomas @ Mar 2 2009, 10:14 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=16300