Kawasaki KFX450 Forum - KFX450Central banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
today i went to a dealership and purchased an KFX450. we rolled it out the door it cranked up fine they went back and did basic preparation. then they went to crank it back up and it wouldnt crank, so they looked it over and tried everything. they diagnosed it as problems with the TPC(throttle position censor) so they are going to replace it and deliver it tomorrow. ill update to see what happens.

Have any of you had this problem?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
120 Posts
It probably was nothing. When they're brand new they won't crank for anything so it makes you think there's a problem when there isn't. Just needs to be broke in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it was wierd b/c it cranked up then they shut it off and 5 mins later it wouldnt crank for anything. the mechanics called kawasaki and they told them to change some things idk what but they are replacing the TPC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
120 Posts
That's what mine did when I first got it. The thing wouldn't start for nearly 15mins doing every trick, turning off pump, etc. Just wouldn't fire. Eventually it did and after break-in it was perfect. I've seen quite a few cases of the same thing so probably was nothing at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
QUOTE (Psychosis @ Apr 14 2007, 01:28 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1155
That's what mine did when I first got it. The thing wouldn't start for nearly 15mins doing every trick, turning off pump, etc. Just wouldn't fire. Eventually it did and after break-in it was perfect. I've seen quite a few cases of the same thing so probably was nothing at all.
Thats what mine did. Went to back it off the track and for about 10 minutes it would just crank and not fire. Then it started, and I killed it, and it would not fire for another 5 minutes. Once it warmed up and I rode it a little, it seems to get better each time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ok so they mechanics shouldve just left it alone for about 15 mins and try it again? well o well they are already replacing the TPC now lol. so i hope it dont have any problems after i get it and after break in. thanx
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
191 Posts
THE SAME THING HAPPEND TO ME TOO but its fixed now
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Mine did the same thing, don't know if you know but if you hit the gas to start it the bike will NOT start. I have to use the "choke" knob every time when its cold or it won't start.
Later
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
yea they figured it out. it wasnt the TPC it was a cable that wasnt connected from the factory lol. and yes the throttle dont help it start because it is fuel injected.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
QUOTE (M-1028 @ Apr 14 2007, 12:44 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1176
Mine did the same thing, don't know if you know but if you hit the gas to start it the bike will NOT start. I have to use the "choke" knob every time when its cold or it won't start.
Later
I've had mine for about three weeks now and it was hard to start at first as well. But after three rides it fires up easy. I didn't even know it had a choke knob, where is it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
I had trouble starting it the first day too. Then I read in the manual that it kills the spark if you use the throttle while starting. Its just second nature to pump the throttle while starting it but dont. Let the pump prime for a second before starting it as well and it will fire up every time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I dont really mean to be negative but for a new quad these problems are terrible !
It should start every single time straight away.
Just b/c it has efi means diddly - it still should fire up immediately.
I would be spewing if Id spent $6-7k on a new bike and it wont start.
It hasnt got a 'choke' either - its just a fast idle lever.
Flame away !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
QUOTE (tlronny @ Apr 15 2007, 04:37 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1217
I dont really mean to be negative but for a new quad these problems are terrible !
It should start every single time straight away.
Just b/c it has efi means diddly - it still should fire up immediately.
I would be spewing if Id spent $6-7k on a new bike and it wont start.
It hasnt got a 'choke' either - its just a fast idle lever.
Flame away !
It DOES have a choke. It just isn't called a choke. You pull out on the idle adjust screw and it acts like a choke-starts just fine cold. My guess is alot of people do not know about it or read the manual. I agree though, especially being efi you would think this thing would start better than any carbureted machine. I am still in love with it.
 
H

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
QUOTE (QUADROOKIE @ Apr 16 2007, 12:38 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1218
It DOES have a choke. It just isn't called a choke. You pull out on the idle adjust screw and it acts like a choke-starts just fine cold. My guess is alot of people do not know about it or read the manual. I agree though, especially being efi you would think this thing would start better than any carbureted machine. I am still in love with it.


Its called a cold start button. We have never had a problem starting ours. Like stated above just pull the cold start button and and dont give it any gas and it starts fine. These quads are awesome!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
New bikes have problems too. I've owned 3 KTM's and from new, none of them ran right. One wouldn't even start right from the dealer. You have to tinker if you want anything perfect.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top